User lifecycle
As a general overview, the following flowchart gives you an overview of a user’s lifecycle in OpenProject.
--- title: OpenProject user lifecycle --- stateDiagram-v2 direction TB [*] --> Invited: Project invitation [*] --> Registered: Self-registration [*] --> Active: Automatic activation, SSO, or LDAP sync Invited --> Active Registered --> Active Active --> Blocked: Too many failed logins Blocked --> Active Blocked --> Locked Blocked --> Deleted Active --> Locked Locked --> Active Locked --> Deleted Invited --> Deleted Registered --> Deleted Active --> Deleted Locked --> Deleted
The table below details how each status transition works.
| From status | To status | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Invited | If enabled, a project administrator can invite a user to their project. See invite members for details. | |
| Registered | If self-registration is enabled, a user can register themselves. See login and registration settings for details. | |
| Active | When automatic activation is enabled, the user is created via LDAP/SCIM, or the user logs in via OpenID, the user is created in this state. | |
| Invited | Active | An invited user can activate their own account by following the invitation link. |
| Registered | Active | If email verification is configured, a user can click the link to activate their account. An administrator can also activate an account. |
| Active | Blocked | If the user has too many failed login attempts, they will be blocked. See login and registration settings for details. |
| Blocked | Active | The inverse of the above, the user will be unblocked after the configured period. |
| Active, Blocked | Locked | An administrator can lock an account. This prevents the user from logging in to OpenProject but does not delete their account. See lock and unlock users for details. |
| Locked | Active | An administrator can unlock a user, allowing them to log in again. |
| Invited, Registered, Active, Locked, Blocked | Deleted | If the appropriate settings are enabled, an administrator can delete a user, or the users can delete their own accounts. The user record will remain as a deleted user, but their personal details will be deleted. |