Time tracking

Users can book their time or units spent on an activity within a project directly on work packages, which gives a clear indication of how much effort the project activities require. You can either log time in the work package view or via a commit message.

Note: To use the time tracking functionality, the Time and costs module needs to be activated in the project settings.

Topic Content
Logging time How to log time to a work package.
Logging time via commit message How to log time via a commit message to a work package.
Edit logged time How to edit logged time on a work package.
Delete time entries How to delete time entries logged to a work package.
Logging and editing time for other users How to log time to work packages.
Spent time widget on the My Page How to easily track and display spent time in the spent time widget on the MyPage.
Track time with Toggl How to track spent time with Toggl integration.

Logging time in the work package view

In order to log spent hours for a certain activity, open the details of the corresponding work package. Select Log time from the More functions drop down menu, the icon with the three dots in the top right of the work packages details. Or use the Log time icon next to Spent time.

Log time from a work package

You will be directed to the detailed view to log time where you can edit the following:

  1. The date, for which the time will be logged.
  2. The actually logged time (in hours).
  3. The Activity drop down menu offers a choice of activity categories, such as coordination or development. The range of categories can vary from project to project and can be edited by a project administrator or a role with respective permissions.
  4. The comment field, where you can note a more detailed description of the activities that you log time for.
  5. Don’t forget to Save your logged time.

time-logging-pop-up

The aggregated time spent on a work package is shown in the work package details view.

Logging time via commit message

Note: the “enable time logging” option must be activated under system settings in order to log time via a commit message.

To log time to a work package via a commit message you need to use the following syntax: Refs #Work package number @amount of hours. For example refs #123 @2h will log 2 hours for the work package number 123.3-Log-time-via-commit-message

Edit logged time

To edit logged time, click in the amount of the Spent time in the work packages details view.

Click on the number of spent time to edit

This will bring you to the time tracking report where you will see all time entries to this work package.

Click on the Edit icon next to a time entry in the list.

image-20201005143256420

The same detailed view to log your time entries will appear where you are now able to apply your changes.

Delete time entries

To delete a time entry, also click on the Spent time in the details of a work package (just as to edit a work package).

In the list of time entries, click on the Delete icon next to a time entry to drop the logged time.

image-20201005143324624

Logging and editing time for other users

Starting with OpenProject 12.2, users with certain roles are able to log and edit time for other users.

To enable this functionality, an administrator has to accord this privilege to a particular role in the Roles and Permissions section under Users and Permissions in the administrator settings.

There are two new permissions that can be enabled.

  • Log time for other users allows users with that role to log time on behalf of other users
  • Edit time logs for other users allows users with that role to modify and adjust time logged for other users

Permissions to log and edit time for others

Once the permissions have been granted, you will notice subtle differences in the interface.

The Log time modal now has a new field called “User”, that allows you to select a user other than yourself:

Log time now has a user field

When accessing cost reports, you will see a new column titled “Logged by”. The author of the logged time can be different from the user for whom the time is logged:

Logged by field

A user with permissions to edit time logged by other users can edit each entry as they would their own. The “Logged by” field will always display the name of the user who made the last edit.

Track labor costs

In order to track labor costs, you need to define an hourly rate in your user profile first. The labor costs will then be calculated automatically based on your hours booked and your hourly rate.

Spent time widget on the My Page

You can easily track spent time in the spent time widget on the MyPage and get an overview about all your activities during a week. It is like a weekly timesheet for yourself.

See more information about the My spent time widget on the MyPage.

spent time widget

Define hourly rate for labor costs

You can define an hourly rate to track labor costs per user. You will need system admin permissions for this. Please navigate to the user profile, e.g. by clicking on a hyper link of the user name on a work package.

User-profile

You will be directed to the user’s profile page.

Here, you can click the Edit button on the top right corner of the user profile page.

User-profile-edit

Alternatively, you can navigate to Administration -> Users and permissions -> Users and click on the respective user name.

Click on the Rate history tab. Find out here how to continue.