Work package settings

To change basic settings for work package tracking in OpenProject, navigate to -> Administration -> Work packages -> Settings.

You can adjust the following:

  1. Allow cross-project work package relations, i.e. that work packages created in one project can have relations to work packages in another project, for example parent-children work packages.

  2. Display subprojects work packages in main projects by default. This way the work packages of subprojects will always be visible in the main project if a user has the corresponding role in the subproject to see work packages.

  3. Use current date as start date for new work packages. This way the current date will always be set as a start date if your create new work packages. Also, if you copy projects, the new work packages will get the current date as start date.

  4. Calculate the work package done ratio with … defines how the Progress % field is calculated for work packages. If you choose “disable”, the field will not be shown. If you select “Use the work package field”, the Progress % field can be manually set in 10% steps directly in the work package attribute. If you opt for „Use the work package status”, the Progress % field is chosen based on the status of a work package. In this case a % done value is assigned to every status (for example, “tested” is assigned 80%), which is then adapted if the status changes.

  5. Work package export limit. This setting defines how many work packages you can export at the same time, for example in the the work package lists. This limit can only be changed in self hosted versions of OpenProject.

  6. Default highlighting mode (premium feature) defines which should be the default attribute highlighting mode, e.g. to highlight the following criteria in the work package table. This setting is only available for Enterprise on-premises and Enterprise cloud users.

  7. Customize the appearance of the work package lists to define which work package attributes are displayed in the work package lists by default.

Do not forget to save your changes with the blue Save button at the bottom.