User lifecycle

As a general overview, the following flowchart gives you an overview of a user’s lifecycle in OpenProject.

---
title: OpenProject user lifecycle
---


stateDiagram-v2
  direction TB
  
  [*] --> Invited: Project invitation
  [*] --> Registered: Self-registration
  [*] --> Active: Automatic activation, SSO, or LDAP sync

  Invited --> Active
  Registered --> Active

  Active --> Blocked: Too many failed logins
  Blocked --> Active
  Blocked --> Locked
  Blocked --> Deleted

  Active --> Locked
  Locked --> Active
  Locked --> Deleted

  Invited --> Deleted
  Registered --> Deleted
  Active --> Deleted
  Locked --> Deleted

The table below details how each status transition works.

From status To status Description
Invited If enabled, a project administrator can invite a user to their project. See invite members for details.
Registered If self-registration is enabled, a user can register themselves. See login and registration settings for details.
Active When automatic activation is enabled, the user is created via LDAP/SCIM, or the user logs in via OpenID, the user is created in this state.
Invited Active An invited user can activate their own account by following the invitation link.
Registered Active If email verification is configured, a user can click the link to activate their account. An administrator can also activate an account.
Active Blocked If the user has too many failed login attempts, they will be blocked. See login and registration settings for details.
Blocked Active The inverse of the above, the user will be unblocked after the configured period.
Active, Blocked Locked An administrator can lock an account. This prevents the user from logging in to OpenProject but does not delete their account. See lock and unlock users for details.
Locked Active An administrator can unlock a user, allowing them to log in again.
Invited, Registered, Active, Locked, Blocked Deleted If the appropriate settings are enabled, an administrator can delete a user, or the users can delete their own accounts. The user record will remain as a deleted user, but their personal details will be deleted.